All By Meine Self (And Loving It)

There’s something so incredibly liberating about being alone in a foreign country. No one knows where you are, who you’re with, or what you’re doing, and for some reason I find something very comforting in that. Tonight I walked down dark alleyways alone, I talked to complete strangers, I got lost, I stayed out too late, and I danced on tables in a bar-completely sober-with people who didn’t even speak my language. Basically all the things we’re told not to do as kids, I did. And it was one of the best nights of my life. I learned that music and dancing are the same in every language and even if you don’t know the words, you can still sing along-and you can bet I did! Maybe shouting out random words that I don’t know the meaning of wasn’t the best idea, but it was good fun to say the least. I couldn’t tell you where I went or what I saw like I do in most of my other posts because honestly, I don’t know. I walked and I walked until I had seen all I had wanted to, and then I found a new path to take and I walked some more. I saw cathedrals and parks and bridges and restaurants and shops and I saw a city that was alive and I was a part of it. There was a moment when I almost began to cry because I was just so incredibly overwhelmed with happiness and joy and most of all, freedom. I may be alone but I am free, so unfathomably free that nothing else seems to matter. I have rediscovered a part of me that is so very content without the baggage of any other people and that thrives on the unhindered spontaneity and impulse that can occur when one loses the fear of judgement or dependence. Of course friends and family are amazing but sometimes you have to get lost on your own and find that raw independence that can’t be found leaning on others. And I’m telling you, I have found it. People always say that home is where the heart is, and right now my heart is in a foreign country where I don’t speak the language and have little knowledge of. But I am home.

P.S. Yes I am still “studying” abroad. That is the point right? I’m just fortunate enough to be on holiday!

One thought on “All By Meine Self (And Loving It)

  1. Beautifully said. There’s something so unruly and raw about being utterly on your own for the first time. Enjoy…and be safe ☺️ Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

